|9. Railway Gatekeeper's
Originally there were
well over one hundred of these identical cottages in NSW. Less than
twenty survive. Note the central chimney and the location of the
|10. 9 Salisbury Street, c.
This elegant weatherboard house
has had a major alteration to the front c.1920. Note the stunning
steeply pitched gable. At one stage the house served as a doctors
surgery and midwifery hospital.
|15 Salisbury Street, 1885
This small cottage of red Uralla brick on a stone rubble foundation
constructed for Mr. C.H. Givney, who was licensee of the Locomotive
which stood on the corner of Duke and Salisbury Streets.
|12. Masonic Hall,
1883-1884, Maitland Street
were called on 24th October 1883 to construct a temple for the
Masonic Order, to be built of brick on a stone foundation. The
original building with its brick frontage, windows and entrance door
may be seen behind the colonnade. The verandah colonnade, featuring
four little cappings, was added some years later, and then the
ubiquitous fibro! The intriguing granite cubes are a tribute to the
masons' ancient craft. The story that ceremonial goats were penned
at the rear of the building is utterly unfounded.